Taking my ideas to Congress!

Hey YPH blog readers,

Sorry it’s been awhile since my last post, but I’ve been busy presenting my ideas for health reform to Congress! This past Monday, the Roosevelt Institution as well as Senator Bingaman and Senator Lugar helped me organize a briefing in the Capitol for me to present my new Brookings Institution paper on automatic enrollment in Medicaid and CHIP.

We had a number of really top experts from think tanks across DC discussing my paper, which was a little intimidating, but also really cool. Overall people really seemed to like it, and now we’re going to begin the task of trying to get the idea included in health care reform!

I can’t wait to hear more aboutwhat you’re all up to this summer…

3 Responses

  1. Congrats Rob!

  2. Hey Rob! I was wondering if you had heard about what NJ just did…they had added in a section to their state tax form to get information that would help them to see if children in the household might be eligible for CHIP. Last week they got their state plan amendment approved and can now use the info to send out enrollment forms to the families.Here is an article on it:http://www.nvsuburbanite.com/NC/0/2518.html

  3. Thanks Natasha. I did see that – it's really exciting to see the idea take off. The HELP and Finance committee also included some relevant policy language in their health reform bills, so it might actually get passed!

Leave a Reply

