thought for the week

The Unite for Sight conference was an incredible experience. I’m exhausted from running from panel to panel all weekend, but feel like I learned a lot and have a lot to digest. I especially enjoyed the two talks by Joia Mukherjee, medical director at Partners in Health…and the talk today about liberation medicine…and the more “science-y” talks yesterday about genetic manipulation of mosquitoes and immune responses to parasites. I wish I’d gotten to talk to more of the 2,200 (!!) people in town for the conference, but I did meet some pretty cool people. Any one have any inspiring stories to share?

Here’s my thought for the week from the PHC Bulletin:

“I think they’ve changed my view from a fairly conservative and traditional view of how medicine should be practiced to a quite different one. And that’s really due to the fact that the transplant patients that I’ve treated have become members of what you might consider an extended family.

I came to believe — and perhaps I always believed this, but certainly it was reinforced — that medicine was a truly noble profession and that nobody should go into it without nobility of purpose. That [belief] in the long run had downstream effects in that I came to realize that in transplantation there was a kind of class filter through which ultimately when transplantation became self-sustaining economically, or even profitable, that it was much easier to get a transplant if you had a lot of money than if you were poor. So I came to be a strong advocate for health care for everybody.” -Dr. Thomas E. Starzl (one of the “fathers of transplantaion”)

One Response

  1. Thanks for sharing. There were SO many people at Unite for Site…Did YPHC end up doing anything for some of the students who came in from different schools?

Leave a Reply

